The church, built on the native house of Teresa de Cepeda y Ahumada, form an ensemble with the Carmelite convent. Below is the large vaulted crypt of burials, current museum of Teresa and unique museum among the Spanish religious architecture. Works were conducted by the Carmelite architect Fray Alonso de San Jose, starting in 1629, being inaugurated on October 15, 1636.

The façade, thought as an altarpiece, is organized into three sections, highlighting the image of the Saint, in marble, and the coats of arms of the Cepeda y Ahumada, the Order of Discalced Carmelites, the Count-Duke of Olivares, that of Intendant and the Doctor of the Church. Inside, is notorious the sculptures by Gregorio Fernandez (XVII century) and his workshop.


C/ Intendente Aizpuru, s/n. Ávila. 05001 Ávila.

Teléfono: 920 220 708

Fax: 920 220 708


Página Web:

Más Información

Centro de Recepción de Visitantes of Ávila


Avda. Madrid, 39. Ávila. 05001 Ávila.

Telephone: 920 354 000 ext. 370 y 371

Fax: 920 254 200



Tourist Office Regional of Ávila


Casa de las Carnicerías. C/ San Segundo, 17. Ávila. 05001 Ávila.

Telephone: 920 211 387

Fax: 920 253 717



  • General: 2 €
  • Groups: 1.5 €

This website shall not be responsible for the accuracy of this data