Situated in the heart of the Merindades region. The area’s principal rivers ’ the Nela, Jerea, Purón and the Ebro itself have shaped a stunning setting made up of crests and deep hollows.

This site is first mentioned in a document belonging to the Monastery of San Salvador de Oña, where it receives the name of Fonte Arcayo. In 1560, Philip II moved the capital of the seven Merindades regions of Old Castile to this town, where a weekly market was held on Mondays.

A stroll along Calle Santa Marina will reveal many magnificent noble homes dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries such as those of Díez Isla and Danvila. The main square, the Town Hall, the town’s tower, the courthouse, the clock tower or the Monastery of Santa María la Real de Vileña are the other monuments that form this historic site.